Young and Babbitt named City Council President and Vice President for 2019

Young and Babbitt named City Council President and Vice President for 2019

Green City Council Appoints New City Council Officers; Boards and Commission Members Sworn

GCity Council 2018reen, OH, January 7, 2019: At the January 3 Green City Council organizational meeting, Bob Young (Ward 2) was elected City Council president and Barbara Babbitt (Ward 1) was elected vice-president for 2019.        

City Council Committee assignments for 2019 include the following:

Finance Committee: Chris Humphrey, Chair; Rocco Yeargin, Vice Chair; Barbara Babbitt

Environmental & Parks:  Justin Speight, Chair; Barbara Babbitt, Vice Chair; Matt Shaughnessy

Public Safety:  Barbara Babbitt, Chair; Chris Humphrey, Vice Chair; Steve Dyer

Planning and Economic Development: Rocco Yeargin, Chair; Justin Speight, Vice Chair; Bob Young

Rules and Personnel: Bob Young, Chair; Steve Dyer, Vice Chair; Chris Humphrey

Transportation, Connectivity & Stormwater: Matt Shaughnessy, Chair; Bob Young, Vice Chair; Rocco Yeargin Intergovernmental & Utilities: Steve Dyer, Chair; Matt Shaughnessy, Vice Chair; Justin Speight

The first council meeting of 2019 is January 8 at 7 p.m. in City Council Chambers at the Central Administration Building, 1755 Town Park Boulevard.  City Council meetings are held the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 7 p.m.  The second Council meeting in January is the Mayor’s State of the City Address, which will be held on Thursday, January 31 at 7 p.m. at Raintree Golf and Event Center.

Board and Commission Members
Prior to the City Council election, the following members of City Boards and Commissions took the oath of office. 

James Mercer* reappointed to the Board of Zoning Appeal.

Robert Chordar reappointed to the Planning and Zoning Commission.

Chris McMahan* appointed to the Design Review Board.

Clark “Chip” Westfall appointed to the Civil Service Commission.

Donna Anderson reappointed to the Parks and Recreation Board.

Richard Brandenburg appointed to the Audit Committee.

James Schweikert reappointed to the Historic Preservation Commission.

The City of Green, Ohio, founded in 1992, is a prosperous, progressive and promising city with more than 25,000 residents.  Approximately 33.5 square-miles, Green is located in southern Summit County.    Visit or follow the City on Facebook at or on Twitter @cityofgreen.                                           

*Not present at the January 3 meeting. To be sworn in prior to the first regular meeting of the board in 2019.