• Program Cancellation The Children's Entertainment Series at 10:00 a.m. this morning (Thursday, August 16) has been canceled due to weather.
  • Splash Pad is CLOSED The Splash Pad at Central Park is closed the rest of the day today, Thursday, August 16, 2018 due to weather.

City Council Appoints 2017 Officers

City Council Appoints 2017 Officers

Green City Council Appoints New City Council Officers

Green, OH – At the January 5 Green City Council organizational meeting, Chris Humphrey (at-Large) was elected as City Council president and James V. Ahlstrom, II (Ward 1) was elected vice-president for 2017.        

Each year council hosts a special organizational meeting to nominate and elect the new officers to City Council.   In addition, the following board and commission members were sworn in:

Audit Committee: Paul Tarr
Civil Service Commission: Kim Baer
Parks and Recreation Board: Michael Bianchi and Rod Moore
Records Commission: Sherry Swisher

Other board and commission members appointed to new terms this year include:

Board of Zoning Appeals: Joel Reed
Planning and Zoning Commission: Bob Garritano
Historic Preservation Commission – Chas Shreckenberger
Design Review Board – John Warmus and Jeff Noble

The first council meeting of 2017 is January 10 at 7 p.m. in City Council Chambers at the Central Administration Building, 1755 Town Park Boulevard.  City Council meetings are held the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 7 p.m.   The second meeting of January each year is reserved for the Mayor’s State of the City address, which will be held on Thursday, Jan. 26 at 7 p.m. at Raintree Country Club.  Doors open at 6 p.m. Reservations are requested for this public meeting by emailing klavaco@cityofgreen.org.

The City of Green, Ohio, founded in 1992, is a prosperous, progressive and promising city with more than 25,000 residents.  Approximately 33.5 square-miles, Green is located in southern Summit County.    Visit www.cityofgreen.org. or follow the City on Facebook at www.facebook.com/cityofgreenohio or on Twitter @cityofgreen.